Dual 30″ Apple Cinema Displays

Updated on 18-08-2022 in Docking Station
8 on 15-08-2022

My work was e-recycling two perfectly fine 30″ Apple Cinema displays (model year 2006, 2007) so I decided to grab them for my home office.  I have a Lenovo laptop.   I purchased two Club 3D CAC-1510-A adapters and both displays look and work great. 

Now I want to use them as dual monitors, but I have never tried using 2 monitors before, and I’m assuming this might be tricky due to their age and I don’t use a MAC.  My best guess is to buy a dock that can receive 2 USB 3.2 gen 1 Type C ports?  I also want a dock that powers my laptop.

I would prefer to buy a club 3D product as I’m very happy with the CAC-1510.   Any suggestions?

• Liked by
1 on 15-08-2022

Nice grab for sure! (those things still cost a fortune secondhand and the colors are unmatched)

What Lenovo laptop?

Using 2 active adapters over a docking station I would not recommend.

I haven’t tested this but the CSV-1580 might be able to work.

https://www.club-3d.com/en/detail/2542/thunderbolt_4_portable_5_in_1_hub_with_smart_power/

on 15-08-2022

I have a ThinkPad P15s.   Thanks for the hub suggestion, will give that a try and let you know how it goes.  

Show more replies
  • Liked by
Cancel
0 on 16-08-2022

ThinkPad P15s has Thunderbolt 3. Thunderbolt 3 on PCs doesn’t guarantee that two displays are supported from a Thunderbolt port, unlike Thunderbolt 4 which requires support for two displays from a Thunderbolt port.

The tech specs say the USB-C port used for charging also supports a display so you can try that with one of of the CAC-1510-A.